Do Egg Noodles Have Gluten?

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

Egg noodles are most often used in comfort food recipes as we see them in chicken noodle soup, casseroles, or hearty pasta dishes. They add a layer of comfort to any dish.

However, if you have recently been told you need to eat a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if egg noodles fit within those parameters. 

Eating a gluten-free diet can be tricky and confusing. With a name like egg noodles, you may think you are in the clear as eggs are gluten-free… but is that really the case?

So, do egg noodles have gluten? Unfortunately, because traditional egg noodles are made of flour, eggs, and salt, they do contain gluten and are therefore not conducive to a gluten-free diet. There are gluten-free noodle options available, however, from various brands, such as Manischewitz’s gluten-free egg noodles.

Read ahead to learn more about egg noodles and gluten, how egg noodles are used, alternative methods for making gluten-free egg noodles at home, as well as what pasta brands make gluten-free egg noodles. 

What Are Egg Noodles?

Egg noodles are a thick-shaped flat pasta that are a much darker yellow color compared to traditional pasta. 

Where traditional pasta is made with the same ingredients, egg, flour, and salt, what makes egg noodles unique is the number of eggs that are used

Where traditional pasta will use about one egg per batch, egg noodles can use up to 2 eggs and two egg yolks. Some other recipes may include milk and/or butter as well.

The addition of eggs is what gives them a darker yellow color, but it also gives them a richer and denser flavor than traditional pasta. 

How Are Egg Noodles Used?

There are many different uses for egg noodles. 

Traditionally and most commonly they are used in chicken noodle soup. However, they would make a great addition to any soup that calls for noodles.

Egg noodles can often be found in casseroles like tuna casserole or a chicken noodle casserole

They are used in beef stroganoff, with meatballs, and as a replacement in just about any pasta dish. They are even delicious tossed in just some butter and parmesan cheese

Egg noodles also make for a great noodle choice if making pasta salad. 

What Is Gluten And Why Is It Potentially An Issue?

Before we look at if egg noodles have gluten, let’s look at what gluten is and why it can be an issue for some consumers.

Gluten is the name of a specific protein that is found in wheat-based foods like wheat, barley, rye, semolina, farrow, and bulgur. 

Gluten acts as a binding agent to help these foods keep their shape. It is in many different foods, even those you would not expect to find it in. 

The biggest places you may see unexpected gluten are in salad dressings, store-bought sauces, cereals, and soups. 

Gluten can be an issue for people in one of two ways: some people suffer from an intolerance or some people have a more serious issue like Celiac disease, a digestive autoimmune disease. 

Because gluten can be a sneaky ingredient, if you are in one of these boats and have an issue with gluten, make sure to always double-check your labels as it has a tendency to be in foods you would least expect. 

Are Egg Noodles Gluten-Free

Most traditional egg noodles are not gluten-free because they contain flour, which is a wheat product

You can try and find egg noodles at the grocery store that are made with gluten-free flour, or you can attempt to make them at home with gluten-free flour. 

Are Chinese Egg Noodles Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, Chinese egg noodles are the exact same as regular egg noodles; therefore, they contain gluten.

The only difference between the two tends to be in shape: Chinese egg noodles more closely resemble spaghetti noodles

Almost all noodles that are used in Chinese cooking like wonton or chow mein noodles contain gluten as they are all made with flour. 

Brands That Carry Gluten-Free Egg Noodles 

There are a few brands that do have gluten-free egg noodles

These brands use alternative flours and starches like rice flour, potato flour and starch, and tapioca starch in place of wheat flour. However, they still use eggs to keep the rich flavor in the noodles. 

1. Manischewitz Gluten Free Wide Egg Noodles

The first brand that carries gluten-free egg noodles is Manischewitz.

These gluten-free egg noodles are made with tapioca starch, potato flakes, potato starch instead of regular flour.

They also include xanthan gum which is a binding agent that helps the noodles stay together without the presence of gluten. 

They have the same shape and texture as traditional egg noodles and are a great gluten-free substitution. 

2. Jovial Egg Tagliatelle Gluten-Free Pasta 

Another great gluten-free egg pasta brand is Jovial.

These gluten-free egg noodles are made with organic brown rice flour, water, and organic eggs. 

These Jovial noodles are the closest you will get to homemade noodles as there are just three simple ingredients. They are the most natural as well as they do not contain a binding agent like xanthan gum.

They look nearly identical to traditional egg noodles in both shape and color.

Jovial is also a great brand for other gluten-free pasta options like fusilli, penne, and spaghetti.

3. Double Yolk Gluten Free High Fiber Egg Noodles

One last gluten-free egg noodle option is Double Yolk.

Double Yolk noodles are made with rice flour, tapioca starch, millet flour, dried egg yolk, and xanthan gum.

As you can see, out of the three brands Double Yolk’s noodles have the most ingredients, therefore it is the farthest in similarity from traditional egg noodles. 

They also differ in their width, as they are a bit skinnier than traditional egg noodles as well.

Though Jovial and Manischewitz are options whose ingredients resemble traditional egg noodles more closely, Double Yolk is still a good option if you are in need of gluten-free egg noodles. 

How To Make Gluten-Free Egg Noodles

If you are struggling with finding any of the pre-made and store-bought gluten-free egg noodles, you can try making them on your own. 

The process is not necessarily difficult, it just takes a bit of time and patience. 

First, the ingredients you will need are gluten-free flour, eggs, and salt. You also have the option of adding butter and milk, depending on the recipe you choose to follow. 

Regardless of if you are using butter and milk or not, the first step is to mix your flour and salt. For 1 cup of flour, you need approximately 1/2 – 1 teaspoon of salt.

Once those are mixed, if not using milk or butter, make a well in the flour and whisk two eggs right in the center, then combine flour and egg.

If using milk and butter, mix 1 egg, milk (about 1/4 cup but more if the dough is dry), and butter (½ tablespoon) together, then mix into your flour and salt mixture

For both types of dough, knead the dough for about 5-10 minutes or until the dough is smooth and no longer sticky. If it is too dry, add milk or water. If it is too wet, add a bit more flour. 

Let the dough sit in a bowl covered in plastic wrap in the fridge for about 30 minutes.

Once the dough is rested, roll it out to your desired thickness. Make sure to have a floured surface.

 The best part about egg noodles is you do not need a pasta maker as they are meant to be on the thicker side. Roll them to about ⅛-¼ inches thick.

One trick to rolling them more quickly is folding the dough over and slicing through.

Once cut, add them to a pot of heavily salted boiling water and cook anywhere from 2-10 minutes. It will depend on the thickness of the noodle and your desired consistency. 

Voila—you have cooked egg noodles! Throw them in chicken noodle soup or get them ready for a tuna casserole. 

Related Questions

Now that we’ve gone over egg noodles and found out if they had gluten in them, let’s take a look at a few related questions on the subject!

Are egg noodles dairy-free? 

Though most store-bought egg noodles are not gluten-free, they do tend to be dairy-free. However, if you are lactose intolerant or allergic to dairy, always make sure to double-check the labels to make sure they are safe for you. 

Are egg noodles vegetarian?

Fortunately for all vegetarians, egg noodles are safe to eat

There are no animal products at all, just flour, eggs, and salt, so they are consumable for vegetarians. Even egg noodles that are made with butter and milk are safe for vegetarians to consume. 

Are egg noodles vegan?

Unfortunately, egg noodles are not safe for vegans to consume.

What makes egg noodles unique and stand out compared to other noodle options is the use of eggs. Eggs are not appropriate for a vegan diet.

 Both types of egg noodles, those with and without milk and butter, cannot be consumed by vegans as they contain animal products. 

Up Next: What Herbs Go With Turkey?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *