Is Pita Bread Vegan? – What You Should Know
Veganism is a healthy, environment-friendly, and ethically sound lifestyle choice that is getting popular as more and more people adopt the all-plant diet.
Vegans have to stick to a strict diet that doesn’t include any animal products or animal-derived ingredients. At times, it also attempts to exclude foods and clothing that are derived through animal cruelty or exploitation.
While it has endless health and environmental benefits, it comes with its fair share of challenges in searching for acceptable foods.
You’d be surprised to know the number of foods that contain animal ingredients, and that too for no apparent reason.
That being said, vegans are always on the lookout for foods that fall in line with their lifestyle choices and have to be extremely mindful, even while eating something as common as pita bread.
So, is pita bread vegan? Yes, pita bread is considered to be vegan in the majority of cases. However, some pita bread brands use non-vegan ingredients such as milk, eggs, and honey. Therefore, it is always best to check the ingredient list before eating.
Read on to find out how pita bread is made, its typical ingredients, the few possible non-vegan ingredients, and much more!
What Is Pita Bread?
Pita bread is a type of round flatbread common in the Mediterranean, Middle East, and surrounding areas.
It is also referred to as pitta, Arabic bread, or Syrian bread, and comes in different varieties based on the region it is made in.
Some are split open, others are baked in a way to form a pocket, while some are pocket-less (Greek pita). The pocket allows the filling to sit inside the pita, much like a sandwich or wrap.
The bottom line is that they are all different names and variations of the same thing and are prepared in more or less the same way using the same base ingredients.
Pita bread with pockets is prepared by flattening the dough into thin circles and baking them at a very high temperature of around 500°F that generates steam and makes the dough puff up.
Typical Pita Bread Ingredients
The basic ingredients used to make pita bread are flour, yeast, water, and salt. These four ingredients are sufficient to make your own pita bread at home and are usually all that is contained in most pita bread served at restaurants as well.
Thankfully, all these ingredients are plant-based and vegan-friendly.
However, you must keep in mind that when buying store-bought pita bread, you have to be a little careful since they usually contain additives and may contain non-vegan ingredients such as milk, eggs, and honey.
Unless a brand uses these non-vegan ingredients, there is not much to worry about since most of these additives are vegan-friendly.
Citric acid is a common additive in pita bread that is often used as a preservative. While it is an organic acid found in citrus fruit, most citric acid used these days is synthetically produced.
However, it is not a cause for concern for vegans since it is typically made from fungus and simple sugar.
It is also common to add micronutrients such as vitamins and iron to the flour to increase its nutritional value and make it healthier. Again, both these additives should not be an issue for vegans.
You will generally find pita bread to be vegan-friendly, regardless of whether it is made at home, served at a restaurant, or bought at a store.
But if you are in doubt, it is always best to ask or check the ingredient list since you never know when someone decides to change their recipe and swap water with milk or add honey for extra flavor.
Also, if possible, look for store-bought pita bread with a vegan certification.
Possible Non-Vegan Pita Bread Ingredients
Some thickening agents found in pita bread such as guar gum, cellulose gum, and xanthan gum may be a cause for concern for vegans.
The good news is that guar gum is extracted from guar beans and is 100% vegan-friendly.
The reason why so many vegans are skeptical about it is that it is used within animal products such as meat and yogurt. It is, however, added to them afterwards, making it completely safe for vegans.
Cellulose gum is also viewed as vegan and is a derivative of cellulose, which is the tough plant matter found in grains such as wheat.
With guar gum and cellulose gum in the clear, what about xanthan gum? Well, xanthan gum is one of the few possible ingredients in pita bread that could be an issue for vegans.
Xanthan gum is a thickening agent most commonly made by fermenting simple or common sugars such as glucose and sucrose.
However, it can also be produced by fermenting whey, which is a byproduct of cheese manufacturing, which is not vegan-friendly.
Xanthan gum is mostly safe for vegans, and pita bread containing xanthan gum is classified as “vegan by most standards”.
However, depending on your preferences, it is best to look for pita bread that is clearly labelled as a vegan product or steer clear of it.
Similar ingredients that are also in a grey area when it comes to vegan-friendliness include lecithin, monoglycerides, and diglycerides.
Lecithin is a type of fat, whereas the other two are both acylglycerols (an ester of glycerol and fatty acids). All three can be obtained from soybeans or other vegetables, which is mostly the case.
However, lecithin can also be obtained from egg yolk and monoglycerides and diglycerides also come from animal fat.
Without a clear indication of the source of these ingredients, it can be a little difficult to tell if they are vegan-friendly or not.
They are especially common in pita bread and are, in most cases, vegan-friendly. But since it cannot be guaranteed, unless stated otherwise, it is best to avoid them.
In the end, it all comes down to your preferences and what is permissible for you. However, for the strictest vegans, these ingredients are best avoided.
Are Pita Chips Vegan?
Pita chips, also called pita bread crisps or pita crackers, are a popular snack best enjoyed with pineapple or Greek salsa, veggie hummus, tzatziki, or some delicious avocado spinach artichoke dip.
They are made using similar ingredients to pita bread and are mostly seasoned with salt, garlic, chili, cheese, or sour cream flavors.
Most pita chips are vegan-friendly, but as with pita bread, some ingredients may be unsuitable for vegans such as whey protein and milk.
The salted variety is usually the safest for vegans than any other flavors since they may contain ingredients such as milk and cheese, such as in sour cream powder and cheese flavorings.
Some pita chips brands also use eggs in their recipe, either for the chips themselves or to add flavor to them. In any case, it is important to be mindful of this since eggs are not vegan.
Another important thing to note here is that since pita chips are commonly enjoyed with a dip, you need to make sure that you purchase or make one that is vegan-friendly.
This may be a bit difficult if you are looking for a creamy store-bought dip since milk and eggs are usually one of the main ingredients.
You may look for vegan-certified labeling on the dip you purchase, go through the ingredient list, opt for other varieties that are in line with your dietary choices, or simply make one at home according to your preferences.
Are Other Breads Vegan?
Most varieties of bread use the same base ingredients as pita bread and are usually vegan-friendly. There can, however, be a few questionable ingredients in certain types of bread that may strike them off the list of acceptable vegan foods.
Again, the best course of action is to check the list of ingredients and buy bread that has a vegan certification, when possible.
As a rule of thumb, the less processed the bread is and the fewer ingredients it has, the more likely it is to be healthier and vegan-friendly.
Apart from ingredients like xanthan gum, lecithin, monoglycerides, and diglycerides, the main ingredients you need to keep a check for are milk, eggs, honey, and butter.
Certain other not very common ingredients in bread include whey, buttermilk, gelatin, and flavorings using either cheese or animal fats.
Some common types of bread that are usually vegan include white sandwich bread, sourdough, bagels, and tortillas.
Ciabatta bread is also usually vegan, although certain varieties may be unacceptable for vegans since they are made using milk.
Some bread varieties to steer clear of include Indian naan bread since it is usually made using milk and clarified butter (ghee), and is often flavored using yogurt.
Honey wheat bread is also off-limits because it contains honey and most vegans try to exclude it from their diets due to bee exploitation.
Similar to pita bread, the best approach with these breads is to check the ingredients, avoid the ones mentioned above, and try to find vegan-certified brands.
If you are buying fresh pita bread from a bakery or are at a restaurant, you can ask whether the bread is vegan or not. If the information is unavailable or unclear, it is best to avoid it since it’s better to be safe than sorry.
Related Questions
Now that you know if pita bread is vegan or not, and the few ingredients to look out for, here are a few related questions about whether it is vegetarian, kosher, gluten-free, paleo, and keto-friendly:
Is pita bread vegetarian?
Vegetarianism is the abstinence from meat and the by-products of animal slaughter. Since pita bread contains no form of meat, it is 100% vegetarian.
Vegetarians differ from vegans in that while the latter abstain from dairy and eggs, in addition to meat, they are acceptable for the former. Therefore, if pita bread uses milk, eggs, or even honey, it is safe for vegetarians to eat.
Is pita bread kosher?
Grains used to make pita bread are kosher, but the bread itself will only be kosher if it is certified kosher.
This is to ensure that there were no non-kosher ingredients or equipment used during the baking process, such as fat grease or oil from animals.
During the Jewish holiday of Passover, there are stricter guidelines and extra restrictions on what is kosher and what is not. While pita bread may be kosher, it is not kosher for Passover.
Is pita bread gluten-free?
Gluten is a protein found in many foods that helps them hold their shape. Most breads, cereals, and pasta contain gluten, and so does pita bread.
Pita bread is typically made using wheat flour that contains anywhere between 12% and 14% gluten, making it not gluten-free.
However, if you enjoy having pita bread but are following a gluten-free diet, you can either make some gluten-free pita bread at home or look for store-bought pita bread made using gluten-free flour.
Some of the best gluten-free flours include buckwheat flour, amaranth flour, teff flour, and brown rice flour, all of which are great substitutes for wheat flour in pita bread.
Is pita bread paleo?
A paleo diet consists of eating fruit, vegetables, meat, fish, nuts, seeds, and certain fats, and it aims at eliminating certain foods such as processed foods, sugar, most dairy products, vegetable oils, and grains among other things.
Bread, and more specifically pita bread, falls under the grain category and is, therefore, not paleo. No grains are paleo-friendly, not even gluten-free ones, and must be avoided when adopting a paleo diet.
The good news is that you can make homemade grain-free paleo pita bread by using almond flour or a mixture of coconut flour and arrowroot flour and enjoy some delicious grain-free and guilt-free pita bread.
Is pita bread keto?
Pita bread is not keto-friendly because it is high in net carbs and may contain unhealthy ingredients such as sugar.
To stay in ketosis, it is very important to limit your net carb consumption to 20g to 30g per day and, sadly, pita bread contains 53.5g of net carbs per 100g serving.
Some pita bread also contains sugar which, if consumed, will also prevent you from reaching ketosis.
As an alternative, you may look for other types of bread that are low in net carbs and therefore keto-friendly, such as coconut bread and almond bread.
Can vegans have hummus?
How can we talk about pita bread and not mention hummus? They are like the perfect food pairing and taste absolutely delicious together.
You have your answer about whether pita bread is vegan or not, but what about this popular dip? Is hummus vegan? Yes, hummus is generally classified as vegan-friendly since it does not contain any meat or animal products.
Its basic ingredients include chickpeas, olive oil, and tahini, along with a little lemon juice, garlic, cumin, and sea salt, depending on your preference.
Different flavors of hummus contain different ingredients, but unless they contain meat or animal products (which is highly unlikely), hummus is vegan-friendly.
However, just to be on the safe side, it is always best to scan the ingredient list before purchasing.
Up Next: Can Stainless Steel Go In The Oven?