Are Hamburger Buns Vegan?

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

When it comes to practicing a vegan way of life and eating, there are always certain things to watch for and be mindful of. Something may appear to be vegan at first glance but when you consider the deeper details, you often find those items are not vegan-friendly. 

Thankfully, there are typically options out there that you can rely on to provide you with a vegan-friendly solution. We also want to note that some things fall into a gray area.

There are foods that one person practicing a vegan lifestyle might find acceptable while another may refute the validity of that choice. There are times it really boils down to a matter of preference. 

Are hamburger buns vegan? Hamburger buns certainly can be vegan but not every bun or every brand is a vegan option. It’s important to understand the ingredients and what to watch for to understand whether your favorite buns may or may not be vegan. There are some quality choices out there. 

In this guide, we will share with you a complete answer as to whether or not hamburger buns are vegan.

We will cover what might make a bun non-vegan and spend some time talking about the different varieties and brands so you know what solutions you can turn to for a vegan-friendly bun. 

Stick with us to learn whether or not hamburger buns are vegan and more! 

Are Hamburger Buns Safe For Vegans?

Buns are just a type of bread right? So they should be safe as a vegan-friendly food, shouldn’t they? The truth is some hamburger buns contain ingredients in them that are not really considered vegan-friendly. 

If you’re not fully familiar with what it means for something to vegan, the basic definition is that a vegan does not consume or use anything that was derived from an animal.

This does mean meat but it also means that if something in the makeup is not plant-based, it’s probably not acceptable. 

While bread is not directly animal-based in any way, it may contain ingredients that were animal-based at some point in their production.

With products like hamburger buns, ingredients like sugar, dairy, milk, and eggs will make a bun not vegan-friendly. 

Traditional hamburger buns often have one and sometimes all of these ingredients.

The tricky ingredient here is really sugar because you need to know the type of sugar and the background of the sugar to determine whether it really is vegan-friendly. 

Some vegans are not as strict about sugar but the other ingredients listed here are definitely a no-no. 

So, let’s talk first about why some hamburger buns are not vegan-friendly. 

Investigating The Ingredients

Typically, the basic ingredients of things like bread and buns are flour, yeast, water, and salt. So, what’s the problem? 

Generally, if bread or buns really are made with just these ingredients, there is no problem. If you look at an ingredient list and this is all there is, you are absolutely good to go!

However, the problem happens when producers have to come up with ways to mass produce buns, which often leads to adding other ingredients. 

There are a lot of hamburger buns on the market that include added ingredients like milk, eggs, and additional dairy products.

Some of them also use sugars to sweeten them, which could be a problem. These are often added as a means to have texture, filler, or even a stabilizer for production. 

Making Bread And Keeping It Vegan

One clear answer that producers can turn to when they want to sweeten bread is to use an alternative sweetening product besides sugar.

The reason that sugar can be non-vegan is that some production processes for sugar actually use bone char to filter and bleach the sugar. 

If you are able to determine the type of sugar used in sweetening a hamburger bun or bread and you can be certain it does not use bone char, then the sugar would be a safe ingredient.

However, you probably won’t be able to get clear details on this from most producers. 

Breads and buns are often sweetened with either sugar or honey and neither of these are acceptable for vegans, unless you can determine the source of the sugar. 

Thankfully, there are plenty of breads and buns that are designed to be vegan-friendly. This means those manufacturers have found other means of sweetening agents or have found a way to creating bread without adding milk, sugar, and other dairy products. 

More than anything, you will need to pay close attention to the ingredients and be familiar with what is or is not acceptable. 

Many of the suitable brands out there can easily be found at most grocery stores. It is also possible for you to make your own buns as well if you prefer. 

Now that we’ve covered why hamburger buns might not be vegan-friendly in some instances, let’s talk about some of the brands that reliable are! 

Vegan-Friendly Hamburger Buns

There are several brands and certain varieties from some brands that are vegan-friendly across the board.

This part of our guide is geared towards sharing some of these with you, sharing details about the buns, and letting you know if the brand also has choices that you want to stay away from as well.

1. Dave’s Killer Bread Organic Burger Buns

This first option is a really great choice and the buns are organic. They use whole grains and seeds to bring you flavorful and healthy buns.

These buns are even better than just being vegan. They are also gluten-free and they don’t have awful additions that we never like to see. 

They’ve added more flavors so for burger buns you can choose from their whole grain and seeds option or you can choose their traditional burger bun option instead.

These are high in protein and they don’t use any bleached flour or things like high-fructose corn syrup in them either. 

These aren’t usually too hard to find. They are a specialty brand but several stores tend to carry them.

You can often find them at places like Walmart, Kroger, Publix, Safeway, and Whole Foods. 

2. Ezekiel Bread

Ezekiel Bread is a specialty brand that you can find at most health food stores. You can also order Ezekiel Bread online.

This company has a faith-based background and make their products in line with Ezekiel 4:9, which is where their name comes from. 

This is a popular line and their breads and buns are known for far more than simply being vegan.

They are a healthy bun option and they are vegan. You can choose any of their line of breads or buns and you can’t go wrong. 

Ezekiel Bread isn’t always at your local Walmart but you can find it at Whole Foods, the health foods or organic section of some chain grocery stores, and many specialty health food stores.

All of their breads contain absolutely no egg, dairy, sugar, or honey to worry about. 

3. Nature’s Own 100% Whole Wheat Buns

Nature’s Own is a brand that you need to be careful which ones you select.

Not all of their varieties are vegan-friendly but if you pick up the 100% whole wheat variety, you should be safe. This particular option does not add any animal by-products into it, making it a safe choice. 

You will be able to find these pretty clearly and the 100% whole wheat buns will be clearly marked as such. They may have some other varieties that are okay but you will want to closely check out those ingredient labels to be sure. 

For example, Nature’s Own has some options that contain honey and/or Omega-3 fish oil.

These varieties are clearly marked with terms that making pinpointing them pretty easy but you certainly want to be aware so you don’t accidentally grab the wrong option from the shelf. 

Nature’s Own is typically pretty easy to find. They are readily available at a number of popular chain grocery stores as well as some specialty stores. 

4. Angelic Bakehouse

Angelic Bakehouse is a specialty brand but all of their products are designed to be vegan-friendly while also being considered a clean label product. They don’t contain GMOs either, so that’s an awesome bonus! 

These buns are made with sprouted whole grains and there is nothing on that ingredient label that you have to be overly worried about.

They do have more than one hamburger bun option available so you can choose whole wheat hamburger buns or whole wheat slider buns and make whatever your heart desires. 

These might be more challenging to find. Some of the large chain stores do carry them but it may depend on your location.

However, a lot of specialty stores also carry them. They are often stocked at places like Walmart, Target, Whole Foods, and Sprouts. 

You can get any bread product from Angelic Bakehouse and rest assured that it is a reliable vegan option. 

5. 365 Everyday Value

If you have a Whole Foods near you, this is an easy hamburger bun to add to your grocery list there. That is about the only place you will find this brand but it’s a great option to look for you if you have the ability. 

We will point out that you will want to stick specifically to their organic options for this brand. 365 Everyday Value organic buns that are either classic buns or whole wheat buns are safe for a vegan-friendly hamburger bun. 

If you choose an option that isn’t part of their organic line, you will need to be cautious. Some of their other buns outside of this category contain cane sugar and cane sugar can be a problematic ingredient.

There is no way to know if it is truly organic or not most of the time. 

6. Franz Bakery

Franz Bakery is another brand that has a lot of different hamburger buns to choose from. For vegan-friendly buns, you can count on their organic hamburger buns to be a safe choice.

This bakery allows you to shop online and in that format, they clearly label all of their vegan-friendly products. 

We recommend shopping online if you aren’t comfortable making the identification.

However, if you’re at the store and you see this brand, if you pick up their organic line, you will be just fine! Any of the Franz organic buns are vegan-friendly. 

Franz Bakery baked goods and buns can be found at quite a few stores. These buns are commonly found in most Walmart stores as well and other grocery chains.

If all else fails, check out their website and stock up as needed!

Buns To Avoid

While we’re here, let’s talk specifically about some buns that you will probably want to avoid.

Some of these brands do have some vegan-friendly options so be sure to check out our description with each brand. 

  1. Wonder – while Wonder bread doesn’t contain dairy or honey in most of their options, they do have sugar as well as other additives like glycerides and enzymes. 
  2. Sara Lee – Sara Lee contains glycerides. Apart from that, some of their varieties might be vegan-safe but it’s impossible to know if those are from an animal source. 
  3. Nature’s Own – if you stick to whole wheat, you can use this brand. However, if you stray from that line, you might find honey or butter and other animal products on the list. 
  4. Pepperidge Farms – these hamburger buns typically contain milk and potentially other things like glycerides or honey so they are not recommended
  5. Udi’s – this one is commonly mistaken as acceptable but it actually contains egg whites and is therefore not vegan-friendly. 

Related Questions

We hope that this guide to finding vegan hamburger buns is a helpful and informative resource.

There are a number of options out there that certainly are vegan-friendly but you need to be familiar with terms and always pay close attention to the ingredients and details to know for sure. 

Check out the following question and answer section for some additional information that could be helpful as well. 

Are Hamburger Buns Vegetarian? 

Vegetarians typically do consume milk and butter and sometimes eggs, but not always. In order to determine if a hamburger bun is vegetarian-friendly, it will be important to check out the ingredients label.

If milk and butter are used, traditional vegetarians can have these hamburger buns. 

Are Hamburger Buns Gluten-Free? 

Some hamburger buns are gluten-free while others are not. Buns are made from bread so you will need to check specifically for gluten-free labeling to know whether or not the buns in question are gluten-free or not. 

Are Hamburger Buns Dairy-Free?

A lot of hamburger buns add dairy products to add flavor or texture to their buns.

However, there are some options out there that have no dairy in them at all. If a hamburger bun is vegan-friendly, it will also be dairy-free. Be sure to check the labels. 

Are Hamburger Buns Kosher? 

Some hamburger buns will be kosher but you will need to look specifically for this detail to know which options really are kosher and which ones aren’t.

Foods that are truly Kosher are typically certified and labeled as such. 

Are Hamburger Buns Paleo-Friendly? 

Most hamburger buns are not considered paleo-friendly.

However, there are options out there that might fit into this category. You need to know what to look for and again always check your ingredient list to be sure! 

Are Hamburger Buns Keto-Friendly? 

Most hamburger buns are not really keto-friendly. However, be aware that there are more and more brands and options available that are made to be keto-friendly.

These are typically specialty options so you may need to do some research and find the appropriate brands. 

Up Next: Are Energy Drinks Vegan?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *