|

Are Pringles Vegan?

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

Pringles are a chip that have been beloved by many for decades. With their fun and memorable shape and a plethora of flavors, they have been a favorite snack option for the masses.

One thing that makes pringles so unique is their many different flavors and the way they are constantly updating the list and creating new and unique combinations.

However, with so many different flavors, it can be hard for those who are vegan to decipher whether pringles are safe for them to consume—especially with so many different flavors on the market.

So, are Pringles vegan? The only Pringles in the United States that are vegan are the Original, Original Reduced Fat, and Original Lightly Salted. Every other US flavor contains an animal product like milk or whey.

Keep reading to learn the history of Pringles and their popularity, nutritional information on both vegan and non-vegan Pringle flavors, and to find out if Pringles are also vegetarian, dairy-free, gluten-free, or kosher. 

The History Of Pringles

The development of Pringles all started because people were sick of greasy, stale, and underwhelming potato chips. 

In 1956, the company Procter & Gamble asked a chemist by the name of Fredric J. Baur to help them create the most perfect chip.

Baur was successful in his design and was the one who came up with the infamous resealable tin and the smile shape chip we have all grown to love. This design of both container and chip was (and still is) unlike any other chip on the market!

The one issue? The chips still tasted horrible.

A few years later, Procter & Gamble tried once more to create the best chip on the market, using Baur’s methods but changing the recipe of the chip to be a mix of dehydrated potatoes, rice, wheat, and corn.

Sure enough, the adjustments worked and Pringles were born in 1968.

There were some issues with the shape of the Pringles and many people were upset they even called themselves chips. 

Throughout the ’70s, it seemed as if Pringles might never take off since so many people had different qualms about them. However, once the ’80s came around the demand and popularity for Pringles went up.

There is no definitive answer as to why, some say it was due to a Brad Pitt commercial while others credit the success to Procter & Gamble’s campaign “Fever for the Flavor of Pringles.”

Regardless of how or why people started loving them, Pringles became a superstar on the chip market.

They are now sold in over 140 countries with an average of 30-40 flavors on the market at a time (they have created almost 200 different flavors around the world!)

Pringles are truly unlike any other chip on the market and their unique shapes and flavors have made them popular all around the world. 

Are Pringles Vegan?

If you’re a vegan, it can be hard to find mainstream snacks that fit into your diet. Many chips on the market contain dairy, making it hard to find a chip that is ethical for you to consume. 

Well, for those on a vegan diet I have good news and bad news. The good news is the Original Pringles flavor is vegan; however, the bad news is that none of the other US flavors that are currently on the market are. 

Vegan Pringles

Like we have just mentioned, there are not many vegan options of Pringles here in the United States.

If you were to travel to a different country like the United Kingdom or Australia, you would find that some of their other flavors are vegan.

For example, in the UK they have other vegan flavors like Paprika or their version of barbecue, the Texas BBQ flavor. However, the US’s barbecue Pringle is not vegan, as are any of the other popular flavors.

So, the vegan options in the United States are Original Pringles and the reduced fat and lightly salted version of the Original.

Original Pringles 

Original Pringles come in their signature tubed container, with a resealable lid, in a classic red color. 

Original Pringles contain the following ingredients:

  • dried potatoes
  • vegetable oil
  • corn cottonseed
  • high oleic soybean
  • sunflower oil
  • degerminated yellow cornflour
  • cornstarch
  • rice flour
  • maltodextrin
  • mono and diglycerides
  • salt
  • wheat starch 

As you can see, all of these ingredients are consumable for vegans. They may not be the healthiest of ingredients, but they are free of animal products and acceptable for a vegan diet.

Original Pringles taste quite salty, and they have a slightly ridged texture to them. 

The rice flour, wheat starch, and cornflour give them a texture and bite unlike any other chip on the market–especially those made predominantly with potatoes. 

Because of this, when you bite into the Pringle, they have a nice crisp to them but it does differ from other chip products. 

Pringles also makes a “wavy” version of this chip that is also vegan. 

Lightly Salted Original

The Lightly Salted Original Pringles are almost identical to the Original variety minus one thing—that’s right! It’s the amount of salt.

They even come in the same signature red container with just a tweak of design as it contains a large cloud-like shape on the front that notes it has less salt. 

Where the Original Pringles taste quite salty, the Lightly Salted Varietal keeps the sodium down to a minimum. Specifically, they advertise that this varietal has 50% less sodium than the original, but with the same texture and crunch.

Lightly Salted Original Pringles contain the following ingredients:

  • dried potatoes
  • vegetable oil
  • corn cottonseed
  • high oleic soybean
  • sunflower oil
  • degerminated yellow cornflour
  • cornstarch
  • rice flour
  • maltodextrin
  • mono and diglycerides
  • salt
  • wheat starch 

As you can see, these are the exact same ingredients, even in the same order. So, these are also vegan and might be a bit healthier of an option as it does contain less salt. 

The one difference is in taste, as the Original variety is much saltier than the Lightly Salted.

Reduced-Fat Original

The Reduced Fat Original Pringle is also nearly identical to the original except it contains less fat

They come in the same container and look just like the Lightly Salted version with a cloud-like shape on the front that states it is reduced fat instead of reduced salt. 

Like the previous two varieties, the Reduced Fat version of these chips contains the exact same ingredients. The only difference is in fat content where the Original has 9 grams of fat while the Reduced fat has 7 grams.

However, as there is only a 2-gram difference in fat content, these Reduced Fat Pringles taste very close to the Original flavor.

Non-Vegan Pringles

So, if you are vegan and looking for a Pringle in the US your options are extremely limited.

You can enjoy Pringles in their original form or some variety of the original form, but currently there are no other Pringles flavors on the market that you can enjoy.

The reason for this is because of two main ingredients that Pringles use in their flavoring:

Milk, Buttermilk, and Cheese

Nearly every Pringle flavor currently on the market contains some form of dairy. The most common ingredients being milk, buttermilk, and some form of cheese.

Even flavors that do not seem like they would have dairy, like Salt and Vinegar, Jalapeno, or Barbecue all have some form of a dairy product.

Not only the original style Pringles, but their new version called a Wavy chip (which is a ridged chip that is comparable to a Ruffle chip) all include dairy products in their flavoring. 

Whey

The second ingredient that is used quite often in Pringle flavoring is whey.

Whey is a protein that is made from dairy. When in the process of making cheese from milk, once the curds are separated, there is a watery portion of the milk that is leftover. That liquid is whey.

Often in Pringles’ flavoring, there is both whey and another type of dairy product like milk, buttermilk, or cheese. Because of this, all of the flavors except the original are not considered vegan. 

Possible Non-Vegan Ingredient: Mono and Diglycerides

There is one more ingredient that is listed in all Pringles that some vegans may stray away from: mono and diglycerides.

Mono and Diglycerides are fatty acids that are food additives. They’re traditionally used as an emulsifier in foods.

They can come from either plants or animals. So, the issue here is that food companies, like Pringles, do not have to specify where they originate from on their ingredient list.

While Pringles do have a “vegan” and “vegetarian” sticker on their Original flavor, leading the consumer to believe the mono- and diglycerides are derived from plants, if this is a big concern for you, you may want to completely stay away.

Ultimately, it is up to you to decide how comfortable you are with relying on the label on the Original Pringles packaging. 

Non-Vegan Pringles Flavors

Now that we have looked at the Pringles that are vegan, let’s look a little more closely at the most popular Pringles flavor that are always in variety packs with the original flavor that are not vegan:

Sour Cream and Onion

If you are not vegan and are a Pringle consumer, you have most likely indulged in the Sour Cream and Onion variety. 

This famous green resealable tube that hosts the Sour Cream and Onion flavor is by far the most popular in stores. Oftentimes, you will even see this flavor and the Original sold together in a variety pack. 

What makes the Sour Cream and Onion Pringle so popular is the salty, rich and creamy flavor that you get from biting into it. 

The main ingredients for the Sour Cream and onion variety are similar to the original, but what gives them their unique flavor is a mixture of cream, non-fat milk, buttermilk, yeast extract, sour cream, whey, and onion powder.

So, though they are yummy, these ingredients that make them prove they are nowhere close to vegan.

Barbecue

Another popular flavor of Pringles is the Barbecue flavor as they also often come in part of a variety pack. 

Coming in a dark purple tube, these smoky, tangy, and salty chips are absolutely delicious getting their flavor from whey, garlic powder, spice, onion powder, tomato powder, and other flavoring agents

However, as you can see by the inclusion of whey, these barbecue chips are also inedible for vegans though you may not expect it with a barbecue flavor. 

So, unfortunately, these are also not acceptable for vegans. 

Cheddar

The last flavor that is considered most popular is Cheddar, which by the name we can obviously assume is non-vegan!

The Cheddar Pringles are a bright orange-colored chip, with a matching bright orange resealable tube, and they taste incredibly cheesy, salty, and rich. 

They get their cheesy flavor from onion powder, cheddar cheese, blue cheese, buttermilk, butter, and nonfat milk.

As you can see, there are multiple dairy products in the cheddar variety making them most definitely non-vegan.

Other Non-Vegan Flavors

Some of the other non-vegan flavored Pringles currently on the market are Salt and Vinegar, Jalapeno, Pizza, Ranch, Dill Pickle, and Honey Mustard

Pringles also have a Wavy varietal that has the same curved shape but instead of a smooth surface they have ribs that resemble waves (hence, the name!)

The wavy Applewood Smoked Cheddar, Fire Roasted Jalapeno, Sweet and Spicy BBQ, and other flavors are all non-vegan

However, Pringles are putting new flavors on the market quickly! Make sure to always double-check the label because you never know when a vegan flavor may hit the market. 

Related Questions

Now that we’ve answered the question of whether or not Pringles are vegan, let’s take a look at a few related questions on the topic!

Are Pringles Vegetarian?

Nearly all the Pringles currently in the US market are vegetarian. As vegetarians can consume animal products but not animals, all of the flavors we have listed in this article can be consumed by vegetarians. 

Even the Rotisserie Chicken and the Wendy’s Spicy Chicken flavors can be consumed as they do not use any meat for flavoring. They instead utilize other natural flavors to achieve the meat taste.

Many of the Pringles containers will have a vegetarian box on the packaging to help make shopping easier. So, if you are concerned, make sure to check for that. 

Are Pringles Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, there are no Pringles on the US market that are currently gluten-free

Every Pringle flavor, including the Original, contains some type of wheat (most likely wheat starch) making these chips inedible for those with a gluten allergy or intolerance.

Are Pringles Dairy-Free?

Unfortunately, the only dairy-free pringles on the market are the Original, Lightly Salted Original, and Reduced Fat Original. These three varieties do not contain any dairy products.

Every other Pringle Flavor includes some type of dairy product, like milk, buttermilk, cheese, and/or whey.

Be careful when purchasing Pringles that may look dairy-free due to their name, like Salt and Vinegar or Jalapeno, as even those contain some type of dairy product.

Are Pringles Kosher?

Good news for those who are Kosher—every Pringle flavor made in the United States is Kosher approved!

On some cans, you may even see Hebrew written which represents a Kosher certification to make it easier on those who eat Kosher. 

However, as Pringles are constantly updating flavors and introducing new products, always make sure to double-check the packaging before consuming.

Up Next: 5 Best Starbucks Refreshers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *